THE SENATE KA 'AHA KENEKOA

INTERIM OF 2025

COMMITTEE ON COMMERCE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION

Senator Jarrett Keohokalole, Chair Senator Carol Fukunaga, Vice Chair

NOTICE OF INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

DATE: Tuesday, June 24, 2025

TIME: 9:30 AM

PLACE: Conference Room 229 & Videoconference

State Capitol

415 South Beretania Street

PHOTO ID REQUIRED FOR ENTRANCE TO THE STATE CAPITOL BUILDING HOURS: 7AM TO 5PM. MONDAY - FRIDAY

A live stream of all Senate Standing Committee meetings will be available on the Senate YouTube Channel.

<u>AMENDED AGENDA</u>

In 2018, the Legislature passed the Hawaii Ratepayer Protection Act, directing the PUC to implement performance-based regulation (PBR), which took effect in 2021 for a five-year term. The PBR framework uses alternative regulatory mechanisms to align utility incentives with performance and policy goals. This briefing will provide an update on the framework and its implications on electrical utilities and rate payers in the future.

- 1. Ulupono Initiative: PBR 101
- 2. Hawai'i Public Utilities Commission: Status of PBR
- 3. Hawai'i State Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs Division of Consumer Advocacy
- 4. Director of the Hawai'i State Department of Commerce and Consumer: Briefing on PUC Whistleblower Complaint Process
- 5. Q&A

Briefing Materials

No public testimony will be accepted.

For special assistance: The cable TV broadcast and/or live stream of this meeting will include closed captioning. If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please call the committee clerk at the telephone number listed below or email CPNcommittee@capitol.hawaii.gov. Requests made as early as possible have a greater likelihood of being fulfilled.

FOR AMENDED NOTICES: Measures that have been deleted are stricken through and measures that have been added are underscored. If a measure is both underscored and stricken through, that measure has been deleted from the agenda.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, PLEASE CALL THE COMMITTEE CLERK AT (808) 587-7215.

Senator Jarrett Keohokalole Chair
Senator Ronald D. Kouchi President of the Senate