Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 24 , 2025

RE: H.C.R. No. 123

Honorable Nadine K. Nakamura Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-Third State Legislature Regular Session of 2025 State of Hawaii

Madame:

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred H.C.R. No. 123 entitled:

"HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION SERVICES OF THE CITY AND COUNTY OF HONOLULU TO IMPLEMENT A RESTRICTED PARKING ZONE PILOT PROGRAM IN THE KO 'OLINA, HONOKAI HALE, NĀNĀKULI, AND MAILI NEIGHBORHOODS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to request the Department of Transportation Services of the City and County of Honolulu to implement a Restricted Parking Zone Pilot Program in the Ko 'Olina, Honokai Hale, Nānākuli, and Maili neighborhoods.

Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from one individual.

Your Committee finds that restricted parking zones are an effective tool for managing on-street parking in residential areas experiencing high demand from non-residents due to nearby traffic generators. The success of the Kalihi Valley Restricted Parking Zone Pilot Program demonstrated significant improvements in parking availability and reduced congestion and unauthorized parking.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your

2025-2856 HCR123 HSCR HMSO



Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of H.C.R. No. 123 and recommends its adoption.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,

DARIUS VILA, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-third Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

					
Bill/Resolution No.:	Committe	e Referral:	Date: 3/20/25		
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.					
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)					
TRN Members		Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. KILA, Darius K. (C)					
2. GRANDINETTI, Tina	ı Nakada (VC)				
3. COCHRAN, Elle					
4. EVSLIN, Luke A.		112 mar 1400 may 1400			200 0500 000000000000000000000000000000
		23175165 1255 17777757 1255			
5. KITAGAWA, Lisa	ie ja Tari T		- 19 , 11., 14.0, 13		W. Martin
6. LA CHICA, Trish	eji Nagerbaldi Mita — ESE Maddala — S		i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i	. 1 1. 11. 11. 11. 11. 11. 11. 11. 11. 1	
		Egg. (ISC.) SANTED			
7. MIYAKE, Tyson K.					
				A DESERVATION	
8. MURAOKA, Christop	her L.			12-12-12-12-12-12-12-12-12-12-12-12-12-1	
A PHENICIA FILL		A CHARLES			
9. PIERICK, Elijah					
					-
.					
					
TOTAL (9)	E			3
The recommendation is:	☐ Adopted ☐ Not Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:					
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO					