## THE SENATE KA 'AHA KENEKOA

# THE THIRTY-THIRD LEGISLATURE REGULAR SESSION OF 2025

## COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND TOURISM

Senator Lynn DeCoite, Chair Senator Glenn Wakai, Vice Chair

#### **COMMITTEE ON HIGHER EDUCATION**

Senator Donna Mercado Kim, Chair Senator Michelle N. Kidani, Vice Chair

### NOTICE OF INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

DATE: Tuesday, January 28, 2025

TIME: 1:00 PM

PLACE: Conference Room 229 & Videoconference

State Capitol

415 South Beretania Street

TIMESLOT: EDT

# PHOTO ID REQUIRED FOR ENTRANCE TO THE STATE CAPITOL BUILDING HOURS: 7AM TO 5PM, MONDAY - FRIDAY

A live stream of all Senate Standing Committee meetings will be available on the Senate YouTube Channel.

### AGENDA

The purpose of this informational briefing is to review and gather information on the state of Hawaii's film industry though workforce development initiatives, funding sources, and programs at the University of Hawaii.

- 1. Welcome and Introductory Remarks.
- 2. Department of Business, Economic Development, and Tourism- Creative Media Industries
  - Georia Skinner, Chief Officer
  - Thomas Chock, Program Specialist
- 3. University of Hawaii- Academy for Creative Media (ACM)
  - Chris Lee. Founder of ACM
  - · Vassilis Syrmos, Vice President of Research and Innovation
  - Manette K.P. Ah Nee- Benham, University of Hawaii- West Oahu Chancellor
  - Christine Acham, Department Chair at University of Hawaii- Manoa School of Cinematic Arts.
  - Sharla Hanaoka, Associate Director at University of Hawaii-West Oahu
  - University of Hawaii Foundation
- 4. Closing Remarks

No public testimony will be accepted.

For special assistance: The cable TV broadcast and/or live stream of this meeting will include closed captioning. If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please call the committee clerk at

the telephone number listed below or email <u>EDTcommittee@capitol.hawaii.gov</u>. Requests made as early as possible have a greater likelihood of being fulfilled.

**FOR AMENDED NOTICES:** Measures that have been deleted are stricken through and measures that have been added are underscored. If a measure is both underscored and stricken through, that measure has been deleted from the agenda.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, PLEASE CALL THE COMMITTEE CLERK AT (808) 587-7225.	
Senator Donna Mercado Kim Chair	Senator Lynn DeCoite Chair