THE SENATE THIRTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE, 2024 STATE OF HAWAII

S.C.R. NO. 66

MAR 0 8 2024

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

## REQUESTING ELECTED OFFICIALS OF HAWAII TO LIVE WITHIN THE SPIRIT OF ALOHA.

WHEREAS, while Hawaii now hosts roughly ten million 1 visitors per year, most visitors and local hosts are unaware of 2 Hawaiian culture and practices, but are receptive to learning 3 how so many different cultures and peoples coexist and largely 4 interact in friendly, non-hostile ways in this land; and 5 6 WHEREAS, Hawaii has the opportunity to demonstrate for 7 others how culturally informed behavior provides opportunity for 8 pleasant interactions and good relationships; and 9 10 11 WHEREAS, the Aloha Spirit affirms that relationshipbuilding is foundational for good government and requires of us 12 consideration and kindness for others; and 13 14 WHEREAS, the Aloha Spirit Law, section 5-7.5, Hawaii 15 16 Revised Statutes, codifies the character traits of the Aloha Spirit; and 17 18 19 WHEREAS, the Aloha Spirit Law states that, in exercising their power on behalf of the people and in fulfillment of their 20 responsibilities, obligations, and service to the people, the 21 22 Legislature, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, executive officers of each department, the Chief Justice, associate justices, and 23 judges of the appellate, circuit, and district courts may 24 contemplate and reside with the life force and give 25 26 consideration to the "Aloha Spirit"; and 27 28 WHEREAS, the values included in the Aloha Spirit Law promote unification, rather than division; now, therefore, 29 30 BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the Thirty-second 31 Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2024, the 32



## S.C.R. NO. 66

House of Representatives concurring, that elected officials of 1 Hawaii are requested to live within the spirit of Aloha; and 2 3 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this 4 5 Concurrent Resolution be transmitted to Hawaii's congressional delegation, the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, director of each 6 executive department, Chief Justice, and mayor of each county. 7 8 9 10 OFFERED BY:

