Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 25 ' 2022

RE: S.C.R. No. 138

S.D. 1 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs, to which was referred S.C.R. No. 138, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, entitled:

"SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION URGING THE CITY AND COUNTY OF HONOLULU TO CELEBRATE THE FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY OF THE LANIKAI BIKEWAY AND RECOGNIZE THE EFFORTS OF TED RODGERS AND CYNTHIA THIELEN WHO LED THE EFFORTS TO ESTABLISH IT,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to urge the City and County of Honolulu to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the Lanikai bikeway and recognize the efforts of Ted Rodgers and Cynthia Thielen who led the efforts to establish it.

Your Committee received testimony in support from one individual.

Your Committee finds that the Lanikai Bikeway was created in response to the unsafe road conditions for bikers in the area. Because this community effort was organized and led by Ted Rodgers and Cynthia Thielen, an official recognition of their leadership and advocacy will serve as a permanent reminder of their tangible contributions to protecting the community.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of S.C.R. No. 138, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, and recommends its adoption.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs,

MARK M. NAKASHIMA, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature

HSCR 2150-22

Record of Votes of the Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:	Date		
SOR 138, SDI, HOI	TRN, JH	A	4/21/22	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
JHA Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. NAKASHIMA, Mark M. (C)	×		· ···	
2. MATAYOSHI, Scot Z. (VC)	\times			
3. ICHIYAMA, Linda	×			
<u> Masaysa, a ja Alamata baga</u>	<u></u>		CERLA A JOHAN JA	
4. KOBAYASHI, Dale T.				\sim
			<u> </u>	
5. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.	>		***	ļ. P
6 I OWEN Nicola E			and a second on the second of the second of	
6. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
7. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.	<u>Jangan Bariban Basan daka dalah dalah dalah bariban dalah</u>			×
7. WEIGHT II, Milgus Loke.				
8. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.	×		a Assar a a manada Maramada (1866) a a a sa	
9. TAKUMI, Roy M.	×	<u> </u>		
10. TOKIOKA, James Kunane	X			
11. WARD, Gene				×
		ļ		
TOTAL (11)	8	0	0	3
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				