

Honolulu, Hawaii , 2022

APR 18 '

RE: S.C.R. No. 138 S.D. 1 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred S.C.R. No. 138, S.D. 1, entitled:

"SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION URGING THE CITY AND COUNTY OF HONOLULU TO CELEBRATE THE FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY OF THE LANIKAI BIKEWAY AND RECOGNIZE THE EFFORTS OF TED RODGERS AND CYNTHIA THIELEN WHO LED THE EFFORTS TO ESTABLISH IT,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to urge the City and County of Honolulu to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the Lanikai Bikeway and recognize the efforts of Ted Rodgers and Cynthia Thielen who led the efforts to establish it.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from two individuals.

Your Committee finds that the Lanikai Bikeway was created in response to the unsafe road conditions for bikers along Lanikai's narrow roadways. Because this community effort was organized and led by Ted Rodgers and Cynthia Thielen, an official recognition of their leadership and advocacy will serve as a permanent reminder of their tangible contributions to protecting the community.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. 2043 -22 Page 2

Your Committee has amended this measure by making a technical, nonsubstantive amendment for the purposes of clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of S.C.R. No. 138; S.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs in the form attached hereto as S.C.R. No. 138, S.D. 1, H.D. 1.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

Bill/Resolution No.: SCR 138 + SD1	Committee Referral: TRN , JHA-	Date:	4/13/22	
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
TRN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. AQUINO, Henry J.C. (C)	Ý			en an anti-sector and an anti-sector (1997).
2. ILAGAN, Greggor (VC)	X III			
3. CLARK, Linda	4			
4. HASHIMOTO, Troy N.				
5. KITAGAWA, Lisa				×
6. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.	<u> </u>			
7. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.				
8. TAKUMI, Roy M.		<u>en an an</u>		\checkmark
9. MATSUMOTO, Lauren	X			
TOTAL (9)	7	0	0	2
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Tellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				