

Honolulu, Hawaii

, 2022

APR 0.8

S.B. No. 3235 RE:

> S.D. 1 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 3235, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO SAFE SPACES FOR YOUTH PILOT PROGRAM, "

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to establish and appropriate funds for an inter-agency Safe Spaces for Youth Pilot Program within the Department of Human Services to provide safe spaces in each county for youth experiencing homelessness.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Hawaii Youth Services Network, Rainbow Family 808, Stonewall Caucus of the Democratic Party of Hawaii, Hawaii Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians, Opportunity Youth Action Hui, Young Democrats of Hawai'i, and three individuals. Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from one individual. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Governor's Coordinator on Homelessness, Department of Human Services, and Department of Budget and Finance.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your

2022-3008 SB3235 HD1 HSCR HMSO



STAND. COM. REP. NO. **\\(\)** -22 Page 2

Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 3235, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature

45CR 1860-32

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: Committee		Date:	1 1	1
SB3235 SDI HDI HHH, FIN 4-6-22				
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand		·		
8. MARTEN, Lisa	/			
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris				
14. WILDBERGER, Tina				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
TOTAL (15)	14			
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				