STAND. COM. REP. NO. **37**-22

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 07 ' 2022

RE: S.B. No. 3158

S.D. 2 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 3158, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO TRANSPORTATION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- (1) Establish the Electric Bicycle and Electric Moped Rebate Program (Rebate Program) to encourage the purchase and use of electric bicycles and electric mopeds;
- (2) Authorize the Department of Transportation to contract with a third-party administrator to operate and manage the Rebate Program;
- (3) Establish an electric bicycle and electric moped subaccount within the Highway Development Special Fund to fund the Rebate Program; and
- (4) Require that a portion of the Environmental Response, Energy, and Food Security Tax be deposited into the electric bicycle and electric moped subaccount.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Transportation, Climate Protectors Hawai'i, Maui Metropolitan Planning Organization Policy Board, Elemental Excelerator, and twelve individuals. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of Budget and Finance, Department of the Attorney General, Hawaii State Energy Office, Public Utilities Commission, Tax Foundation of Hawaii, Hawaii Electric Vehicle Association, Big Island Electric Vehicle Association, KauaiEV, Ulupono Initiative, and one individual.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 3158, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,



State of Hawaii



Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

_ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \	tee Referral: NFIN			
	•		7-1-62	
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)		·		
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				A.T.
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris				
14. WILDBERGER, Tina				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
·				
TOTAL (15)	14			
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. eompoittee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				