STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1763-22

, 2022

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 07

RE: S.B. No. 2990

S.D. 1 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 2990, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO SUSTAINABLE AGRICULTURE,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to establish and appropriate funds for a cover crop reimbursement pilot program to reimburse qualifying farming operations in the State for acquisition costs for cover crop seeds, green manure, or compost.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from one member of the Hawai'i County Council; Kauai Women's Caucus; Larry Jefts Farms, LLC; Women Organizing for Change in Agriculture and Natural Resource Management; Hawai'i Farm Bureau; Hawai'i Alliance for Progressive Action; Down to Earth; 350Hawaii.org; Climate Protectors Hawai'i; Hawai'i Food+ Policy Internship; and numerous individuals. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of the Attorney General; Department of Budget and Finance; Department of Agriculture; University of Hawai'i System; Hawaii Cattlemen's Council, Inc.; and Hawai'i Farmers Union United.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your

2022-2810 SB2990 HD1 HSCR HMSO

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 763 -22
Page 2

Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 2990, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,



State of Hawaii



Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: 6B 299D SDI HDI	Committee Referral: AGR, FIN	Date:	4-1-22	
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)	/			
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand			1, 17, 1	
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris				
14. WILDBERGER, Tina				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
	_			
TOTAL (15)	14			
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				