STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1933 -22

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR (18. 2022

RE: S.B. No. 2907

S.D. 1 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 2907, S.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO INVASIVE SPECIES,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to require the Hawaii Invasive Species Council to amend its administrative rules to classify coffee leaf rust as an invasive species and expend any available funds for mitigation efforts, research, and prevention or control actions for coffee leaf rust.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from one member of the Hawai'i County Council, Hawai'i Farm Bureau, and Hawaii Coffee Growers Association. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the University of Hawai'i System, Department of Land and Natural Resources, and Department of Agriculture.

Your Committee has amended this measure by changing its effective date to July 1, 2022.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No.



2907, S.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 2907, S.D. 1, H.D. 1.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

State of Hawaii

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: SB 29D7 SD)	Committee Referral: AGR, FIN	Date:	1-1-22	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previou	•		, ,	•
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel			·	
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris				
14. WILDBERGER, Tina				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
				1
TOTAL (15)	14			<u> </u>
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplarate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				