STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1109

Honolulu, Hawaii APR 08 , ²⁰²¹

RE: S.B. No. 219 S.D. 2 H.D. 2

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2021 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 219, S.D. 2, H.D. 2, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO CRIMES ON AGRICULTURAL LANDS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- Impose extended terms of imprisonment for certain offenses against property rights committed when on agricultural land; and
- (2) Appropriate funds to the Department of the Attorney General to establish a statewide Agricultural Theft Task Force to provide law enforcement with tools necessary to identify agricultural theft perpetrators.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Agriculture; Hawaii Cattlemen's Council, Inc.; Hawai'i Farm Bureau; and Ulupono Initiative. Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from the American Civil Liberties Union of Hawai'i and four individuals. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Office of Hawaiian Affairs, Office of the Public Defender, and Community Alliance on Prisons.

2021-2914 SB219 HD2 HSCR HMSO

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1709 Page 2

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 219, S.D. 2, H.D. 2, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

LUKE, Chair SYLVIA



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: SB 219, $SD2$, $HD2$	Committee Referral:		Date: 3 - 31 - 2021	
□ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand			· · ·	
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.		,		
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. WILDBERGER, Tina				
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
TOTAL (15)	9	2	3	
The recommendation is: Adopted Not Adopted If joint referral,				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				