STAND. COM. REP. NO. 2833

Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 0 4 2022

RE: S.B. No. 2125

Honorable Ronald D. Kouchi President of the Senate Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred S.B. No. 2125 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO LIQUOR LICENSES,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose and intent of this measure is to increase the maximum allowable fine for violation of liquor control laws by a licensee from \$2,000 to \$5,000.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from two individuals. Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from the Hawaii Food Industry Association

Your Committee finds that the liquor Commissions or liquor control adjudication boards of each county are established to regulate the sale of liquor through the issuance of liquor licenses and the enforcement of laws and rules. Your Committee further finds that the current maximum fine allowable for violations of liquor control laws is \$2,000. Heftier fines can create a greater deterrent for license holders to avoid violation of liquor control laws and rules. This measure will increase the maximum fine, which will grant greater flexibility to the liquor commissions or liquor control adjudication boards in assessing fees.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 2125 and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,

KARL RHOADS, Chair

The Senate Thirty-First Legislature State of Hawai'i

Record of Votes Committee on Judiciary JDC

Bill / Resolution No.:* SB 2125	Committee Referral:			Date: 02-75-22	
The Committee is reconsidering its previous decision on this measure. If so, then the previous decision was to:					
The Recommendation is:					
Pass, unamended Pass, with amendments Hold Recommit 2312 2311 2310 2313					
Members		Aye	Aye (WR) Nay	Excused
RHOADS, Karl (C)		✓			
KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett (VC)		-			/
ACASIO, Laura					-
GABBARD, Mike		~			
KIM, Donna Mercado					
LEE, Chris					/
FEVELLA, Kurt		✓			
					
		<u>.</u>			
TOTAL		N	_	_	2
Recommendation: Adopted Not Adopted					
Chair's or Designee's Signature:					
Distribution: Original File with Committee Re	Yellow port Clerk's Office Dr		Pink Orafting Agend	Goldenrod cy Committee File Copy	

*Only one measure per Record of Votes