

Honolulu, Hawaii **FEB 2 4** , 2021 RE: H.B. No. 516 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2021 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 516, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO SUSTAINABLE ELECTRONICS MANAGEMENT,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to promote electronics stewardship and reduce electronic waste in the State by establishing the Electronic Device and Television Donation Act to require all persons receiving state funds and state financial assistance to donate unnecessary but functioning electronic devices to nonprofit organizations that will refurbish and distribute the devices to eligible persons in the State.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Education, Hawaiian Hope Org, and one individual. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of Accounting and General Services and one individual.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 516, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. 646 Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature

stscr 646

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

•	nmittee Referral: VR, HET, 1	FIN Date:	-23-	2021
□ The committee is reconsidering its previous of	-			·
	ended (as is)	s, with amendments (nmit for future public		
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana	<u> </u>			-
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.	1 1 <t< td=""><td></td><td></td><td></td></t<>			
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. WILDBERGER, Tina				
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.	~			
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
			-	
TOTAL (15)	15	Ø	Ø	Ø
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referr	Not Adopt al, committee acronyme	did not support	rt recommendation	on.
Vice Chair's or designee's signature	m D.K	· ·		
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee	///	- Chief Clerk's Office	Dunlicate	(Pink) – HMSO