STAND. COM. REP. NO. 3942

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR - 8 2022

RE: H.B. No. 2475

H.D. 1 S.D. 1

Honorable Ronald D. Kouchi President of the Senate Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Ways and Means, to which was referred H.B. No. 2475, H.D. 1, S.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO STATE HOLIDAYS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose and intent of this measure is to establish July 31 each year as La Hoihoi Ea to recognize the accomplishments of King Kamehameha III in restoring the sovereignty of the Kingdom of Hawaii and to honor upstanding members of the Hawaiian community.

Your Committee received written comments in support of this measure from the Department of Accounting and General Services, Malama Makua, Spoehr Foundation, and eight individuals.

Your Committee received written comments in opposition to this measure from the Center for Hawaiian Sovereignty Studies.

Your Committee received written comments on this measure from the Department of Human Resources of the City and County of Honolulu.

Your Committee finds that the establishment of July 31 as La Hoihoi Ea will provide a unique opportunity to reflect on Hawaii's history and the prominent place that Hawaii has held on the world stage for more than two centuries.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Ways and Means that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2475, H.D. 1, S.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Ways and Means,

DONOVAN M. DELA CRUZ, Chai

The Senate Thirty-First Legislature State of Hawai'i

Record of Votes Committee on Ways and Means WAM

Bill / Resolution No.:* Committee Referral: Date: 4/8/22				
The Committee is reconsidering its previous decision on this measure. If so, then the previous decision was to:				
The Recommendation is:				
Pass, unamended Pass, with amendments Hold Recommit 2312 2311 2310 2313				
Members	Aye	Aye (WR)	Nay	Excused
DELA CRUZ, Donovan M. (C)				
KEITH-AGARAN, Gilbert S.C. (VC)				
INOUYE, Lorraine R.				\times
KANUHA, Dru Mamo	> <			
KIDANI, Michelle N.				
MISALUCHA, Bennette E.				
MORIWAKI, Sharon Y.				
SHIMABUKURO, Maile S.L.				
TANIGUCHI, Brian T.	>			
WAKAI, Glenn				
FEVELLA, Kurt	><			
			·	
TOTAL	10			1
Recommendation: Adopted Not Adopted				
Chair's or Designee's Signature:				
Distribution: Original File with Committee Report				

*Only one measure per Record of Votes