Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 0 4 , 2022

RE: H.B. No. 2345

H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 2345, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO LAND,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- (1) Authorize the acquisition of real property located in Ewa Beach on the island of Oahu to develop or facilitate the development of affordable housing, with a priority given to Department of Education classroom teachers at the beginning of their careers; and
- (2) Appropriate funds to the Hawaii Housing Finance and Development Corporation to purchase or otherwise acquire the real property.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from one individual. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of Education, Department of Budget and Finance, Hawaii Housing Finance and Development Corporation, Hawaii State Teachers Association, and Hawaii Government Employees Association, AFSCME Local 152, AFL-CIO.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2345, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature

HSCR883-22

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

	mittee Referral: M/HSG, F	Date:	2-25	2022
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris				
14. WILDBERGER, Tina				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
TOTAL (15)	14			
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				