

Honolulu, Hawaii FEB 0 8 , 2022

RE: H.B. No. 2218

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred H.B. No. 2218 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE FRANK T. OKIMOTO REEF RUNWAY,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to designate the reef runway at the Daniel K. Inouye International Airport as the Frank T. Okimoto Reef Runway.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from four individuals.

Your Committee finds that to alleviate aircraft noise patterns over Honolulu and the surrounding areas, the reef runway was constructed on coral reef adjacent to the Honolulu International Airport in 1977. The project engineer for the reef runway was the late Frank T. Okimoto, who served as an airports civil engineer from 1967 until his untimely passing in 1978. Designating the reef runway as the Frank T. Okimoto Reef Runway will be an appropriate tribute to Mr. Okimoto, whose insight, questions, and exacting standards motivated everyone connected with the project.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2218 and recommends that it pass Second Reading and be referred to your Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,

HENRY J.C. AQUING, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature

HSCR61-22

Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 2218	Committee Referral: TRN, JHA, Fl	Date:	6,4,2022	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
TRN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. AQUINO, Henry J.C. (C)	X			
2. ILAGAN, Greggor (VC)	×			
3. CLARK, Linda	7			
4. HASHIMOTO, Troy N.	X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X			
5. KITAGAWA, Lisa	<u> </u>			
6. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.				- ★*
7. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.				
7. NAKAWOKA, Naume K.				
8. TAKUMI, Roy M.				\times
0 MATCHMOTO Louren				
9. MATSUMOTO, Lauren				
	·			
		-		
TOTAL (9)	7			<u>ک</u>
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				