STAND. COM. REP. NO. **511** -22

Honolulu, Hawaii

, 2022

FEB 18

RE: H.B. No. 2118

H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Higher Education & Technology, to which was referred H.B. No. 2118, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO CYBERSECURITY,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- (1) Codify the existing Hawaii State Cybersecurity Program, administered by the Office of Homeland Security in partnership with specified entities, to oversee cybersecurity and cyber resiliency matters;
- (2) Define the scope and objectives of the cybersecurity program to meet present and anticipated cybersecurity threats; and
- (3) Eliminate the Cybersecurity, Economic, Education, and Infrastructure Security Coordinator position.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the state Department of Defense and Hawaii Office of Homeland Security.

Your Committee finds that this measure provides a comprehensive programmatic approach to strengthening state and

2022-1621 HB2118 HD1 HSCR HMSO



county cyber security to address present and future threats to public and private critical infrastructure.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Higher Education & Technology that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2118, H.D. 1, and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Higher Education & Technology,

GRECO AKAYAMA, Chair

## State of Hawaii



## Record of Votes of the Committee on Higher Education & Technology

Bill/Resolution No.:  HB2118 HD (	Committee Referral:	Date: 2-16-2022		
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to:  Pass, unamended (as is)  Pass, with amendments (HD)  Hold  Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
HET Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. TAKAYAMA, Gregg (C)	i i			
2. CLARK, Linda (VC)				
2. CLIMAX, Dinda (VC)				
3. BELATTI, Della Au			**	
4. GANADEN, Sonny				
4. GANADEN, Sonny				
5. GATES, Cedric Asuega	/	militar de maniero de maneros en este e	a to the planting of the terms of the second	All manages and the second
6. HASHIMOTO, Troy N.				
d. HABIIIVIOTO, Hoy IV.	V	Wadaaga waxaa ah		
7. KAPELA, Jeanne	V			
8. OHNO, Takashi	V			
9. QUINLAN, Sean	V			
				Annual Control of the
10. WOODSON, Justin H.	V			
11. YAMANE, Ryan I.				
12. OKIMOTO, Val				
TOTAL (12)	12	0	0	0
The recommendation is:    Adopted				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature: Kuda A Clark				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				