STAND. COM. REP. NO. **326**-22

Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 04 , 2022

RE: H.B. No. 2090

H.D. 2

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 2090, H.D. 2, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO ZERO EMISSION TRANSPORTATION," begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to establish a Zero-Emission Vehicle Rebate Program within the Public Utilities Commission to enable low- and moderate-income families greater access to zero-emission vehicles by providing a rebate on the point-of-sale purchase price of zero-emission vehicles.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Business, Economic Development, and Tourism; Department of Transportation; one member of the Hawai'i County Council; 350Hawaii.org; Our Revolution Hawaii; Climate Protectors Hawai'i; Blue Planet Foundation; Big Island Electric Vehicle Association; Hawaiian Electric Company; and six individuals. Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from one individual. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board, Public Utilities Commission, Hawaii State Energy Office, KauaieV, Ulupono Initiative, Hawaii Automobile Dealers' Association, Alliance for Automotive Innovation, and Hawai'i Energy.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2090, H.D. 2, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 2090 HD2	Committee Referral: EEP CPC F	Date:	-25-22	
The committee is reconsidering its prev	,		20.20	<u></u>
				-
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)	/			
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.		-		
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris		_ /		
14. WILDBERGER, Tina				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob			·	
TOTAL (15)	13			2
The recommendation is: Adopted D Not Adopted				
If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				
Daprodic (1 mic) Committee Daprodic (2010) Cited Control Carlos C				