STAND. COM. REP. NO. 706

Honolulu, Hawaii

FEB 18 ' 2021

RE: H.B. No. 160 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2021 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred H.B. No. 160, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO REGISTRATION OF VEHICLES," begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to subject U-drive motor vehicles to the same motor vehicle registration fees as other motor vehicles.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Kauai Police Department, Department of Finance of the County of Kaua'i, and Hawaii State Association of Counties.

Your Committee finds that under existing law the registration fee for U-drive motor vehicles, or rental motor vehicles, is less than all other motor vehicles. Your Committee believes the existing registration fee for rental motor vehicles does not equally reflect the actual amount rental motor vehicles use the State's roadways. Your Committee further finds that implementation of the highway beautification fee on an equal basis will help provide much needed funding to help defray costs associated with disposing of abandoned vehicles.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 36 2
Page 2

this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 160, H.D. 1, and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,

AARON JOHANSON, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature HSCR 362

Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 160 HD 1	Committee Referral: TRN, CPC, FI		Date: 2/12/2021		
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.					
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)					
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused	
1. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling (C)	✓				
2 IZITA CANNA XII- (NO)					
2. KITAGAWA, Lisa (VC)					
3. AQUINO, Henry J.C.					
4. HAR, Sharon E.	V				
	: ::				
5. HASHEM, Mark J.					
6 KONC Sam Satoru					
6. KONG, Sam Satoru					
7. MIZUNO, John M.			alina maka jara sila di Bibbili B	<u> </u>	
8. MORIKAWA, Dee				V	
9. ONISHI, Richard H.K.					
10 TARNAS Dovid A					
10. TARNAS, David A.					
11. MATSUMOTO, Lauren					
TOTAL (11)	8	0	0	3	
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)					
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:					
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO					