Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 03 , 2022

RE: H.B. No. 1423

H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 1423, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO VIOLATIONS OF CAMPAIGN FINANCE LAW,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- (1) Amend the amount of the fine that may be assessed against a noncandidate committee that makes only independent expenditures and has received at least one contribution of more than \$10,000 or spent more than \$10,000 in an election period; and
- (2) Authorize the Campaign Spending Commission to order that the fine, or any portion of the fine, assessed against a noncandidate committee be paid from the personal funds of the officers of the noncandidate committee.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the League of Women Voters of Hawaii and Common Cause Hawaii. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Campaign Spending Commission.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 1423, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

## State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature

## **Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance**

Bill/Resolution No.:  HB 1423 HD1 GVF	e Referral:	FIN 2	-24 -22	
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)	/			
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa	/			UN
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				-
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.	100			
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris				
14. WILDBERGER, Tina				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
TOTAL (15)	14			1
The recommendation is: Adopted				
If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				