STAND. COM. REP. NO.

79

Honolulu, Hawaii

FEB 0 9 , 2021

RE: H.B. No. 1288

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2021 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred H.B. No. 1288 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO GOVERNMENT,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to exclude non-voting ex-officio board members appointed by the President of the Senate and Speaker of the House of Representatives to the Board of Directors of the Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transportation from being counted for purposes of quorum.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from three individuals.

Your Committee finds that the existing law regarding quorum requirements for the Board of the Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transportation has caused confusion as to what constitutes a quorum of members to act on an item. Currently, there are fourteen board members, but only nine of those members have voting authority. Your Committee finds that clarification is needed as to which members should be counted toward a quorum so that the Board of Directors can act on important issues facing the Board of Directors. This measure would make it clear that the two members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and President of the Senate do not count toward a quorum, thereby resolving any quorum and voting issues.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 1288 and recommends that it pass Second Reading and be referred to your Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,

HENRY J.C. AOUINO, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature HSCR 79

Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 1288	Committee Referral:	Date:	S FEB 21	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: ✓ Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
TRN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays Excused	
1. AQUINO, Henry J.C. (C)	У			
2. ILAGAN, Greggor (VC)				
3. DeCOITE, Lynn				
3. Decorre, Lymi				
4. HASHIMOTO, Troy N.	X			
5. KITAGAWA, Lisa	X			(980) E
6. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.				
7. TAKUMI, Roy M.	7			i Net
7. TAKOMI, KOJ M.				
8. MATSUMOTO, Lauren	X	i i sa a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a		
	7			
TOTAL (8)	8			
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				