STAND. COM. REP. NO.



Honolulu, Hawaii

, 2021 **APR 19**

S.C.R. No. 201 RE:

> S.D. 1 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2021 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.C.R. No. 201, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, entitled:

"SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION URGING THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII AND UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII PROFESSIONAL ASSEMBLY TO CONVENE A TASK FORCE TO EXAMINE AND ASSESS THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII TENURE SYSTEM FOR RESEARCHERS AND OTHER NON-INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY, AND COMPENSATION STRUCTURE OF FACULTY ENGAGED IN ACTIVITIES SUPPORTED BY EXTRAMURAL FUNDING AND GRANTS, IN COMPARISON TO PEER HIGHER EDUCATION INSTITUTIONS ACROSS THE UNITED STATES; AND PROPOSE THE BEST PRACTICES TO BE IMPLEMENTED BY THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to urge the University of Hawaii and the University of Hawaii Professional Assembly to convene a task force to examine and assess the University of Hawaii's:

- (1)Tenure system for researchers and other noninstructional faculty; and
- (2) Compensation structure of faculty engaged in activities supported by extramural funding for grants;



in comparison to peer higher education institutions across the United States. This measure also requests the task force to propose best practices to be implemented by the University of Hawaii and to submit a report to the Legislature prior to the Regular Session of 2022.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of S.C.R. No. 201, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, and recommends its adoption.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

	Committee Referral: Date		e: //_/c_	
SCP 201, SDI, HDI HT	201, SDI, HDI HET, FIN		4-15-21	
\Box The committee is reconsidering its previous de	ecision on the measure.			
The recommendation is to: Pass, uname ☐ Pass short for	nded (as is) Pasorm bill with HD to reco	es, with amendments (
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)		-		,
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. WILDBERGER, Tina				
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
TOTAL (15)	15	Ø	Ø	Ø
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referra				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:		X	<u>ナ</u>	
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				