STAND. COM. REP. NO.

1147

, 2021

Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 2 3

RE: H.R. No. 122

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2021 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred H.R. No. 122 entitled:

"HOUSE RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION TO DESIGNATE THE REEF RUNWAY AS THE FRANK T. OKIMOTO REEF RUNWAY,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to request the Department of Transportation to designate the Reef Runway as the Frank T. Okimoto Reef Runway.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from three individuals.

Your Committee finds that in 1977, the Reef Runway was built to alleviate the aircraft noise patterns over Honolulu and the surrounding area. The Reef Runway was the world's first major runway built entirely offshore and won two national awards due to its engineering and design. Your Committee further finds that the project engineer for the Reef Runway was the late Frank T. Okimoto. Your Committee believes that designating the Reef Runway as the Frank T. Okimoto Reef Runway is an appropriate way to recognize Frank T. Okimoto and his achievements in engineering the Reef Runway.

2021-2650 HR122 HSCR HMSO



As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of H.R. No. 122 and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,

HENRY J.C. AQUINO, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature HSC2 1147

Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

Bill/Resolution No.: HR122	Committee Referral:	Date	3/19/21	
			3/17/4	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: ☐ Pass, unamended (as is) ☐ Pass, with amendments (HD) ☐ Hold ☐ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
TRN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. AQUINO, Henry J.C. (C)	X			
2. ILAGAN, Greggor (VC)	X			
3. DeCOITE, Lynn	X		-	
		1		
4. HASHIMOTO, Troy N.	X			
	<u> 4. Nevertier – jeun 19</u>			,
5. KITAGAWA, Lisa	X			
6. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.	X			p
		<u> </u>		
7. TAKUMI, Roy M.	X			
	Alabana Jagaya, a a a a la l		<u> </u>	
8. MATSUMOTO, Lauren	X			
TOTAL (8)	8			
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				