STAND. COM. REP. NO.

1148

Honolulu, Hawaii MAR 23 , 2021

RE: H.C.R. No. 144

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2021 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred H.C.R. No. 144 entitled:

"HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION TO DESIGNATE THE REEF RUNWAY AS THE FRANK T. OKIMOTO REEF RUNWAY,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to request the Department of Transportation to designate the Reef Runway as the Frank T. Okimoto Reef Runway.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from four individuals.

Your Committee finds that in 1977, the Reef Runway was built to alleviate the aircraft noise patterns over Honolulu and the surrounding area. The Reef Runway was the world's first major runway built entirely offshore and won two national awards due to its engineering and design. Your Committee further finds that the project engineer for the Reef Runway was the late Frank T. Okimoto. Your Committee believes that designating the Reef Runway as the Frank T. Okimoto Reef Runway is an appropriate way to recognize Frank T. Okimoto and his achievements in engineering the Reef Runway.

2021-2650 HCR144 HSCR HMSO

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1148 Page 2

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of H.C.R. No. 144 and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,

Chair HENRY



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

Bill/Resolution No.: HCR 14년	Committee Referral: TPN : JHA	Date:	Date: 3/19/24		
The committee is reconsidering its pre	evious decision on the measure.				
,	s, unamended (as is)	ss, with amendments (mmit for future public			
TRN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused	
1. AQUINO, Henry J.C. (C)	×			-	
2. ILAGAN, Greggor (VC)	×		mmy		
3. DeCOITE, Lynn	×				
				ing the state of the	
4. HASHIMOTO, Troy N.					
			and a state of the		
5. KITAGAWA, Lisa					
6. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.	X		<u> </u>		
U. MARAMORA, Naune K.					
7. TAKUMI, Roy M.		· 新教会 · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	<u>an in Anglandin Baharia</u> 1	and a second	
8. MATSUMOTO, Lauren	X	n mente en en en en el 21 per en la contrato de la formación de la formación de la formación de la formación de	n faalialii ahaa ahaa ahaa ahaa ahaa ahaa a		
	1				
-					
				<u> </u>	
TOTAL (8)	8				
The recommendation is: Image: Adopted provided of the second					
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:	ANX				
Distribution: Original (White) – Com	mittee Duplicate (Yellow)	Chief Clerk's Office	Duplicate (H	Pink) – HMSO	