## STAND. COM. REP. NO. 2189

Honolulu, Hawaii APR 05 , 2019

RE: S.B. No. 991 S.D. 1 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirtieth State Legislature Regular Session of 2019 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 991, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO TELECOMMUNICATIONS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to decrease the overall regulatory burden on providers of basic exchange service, or landline, telecommunication providers by:

- Authorizing providers in counties with a population of less than 500,000 to increase retail rates annually by no more than \$6.50 monthly without prior approval by the Public Utilities Commission;
- (2) Exempting providers from prior Commission approval requirements for issuance of securities, disposition of property, and reporting requirements under certain conditions; and
- (3) Clarifying the providers' exemption from rate regulation.

The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Public Utilities Commission, Hawaiian Telcom, and Verizon supported this



STAND. COM. REP. NO. 2189 Page 2

measure. Charter Communications and the Hawaii Association for Justice opposed the measure.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 991, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair



## State of Hawaii House of Representatives The THIRTIETH Legislature

## HECR 2189

## **Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance**

Bill/Resolution No.: SB991, SD1, HD1 IAC, CPC, FIN Date: 44419				
□ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to:  Pass, unamended (as is)  Pass, with amendments (HD)  Hold    Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)			,,	
3. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
4. GATES, Cedric Asuega				
5. HASHIMOTO, Troy N.				
6. HOLT, Daniel				
7. KITAGAWA, Lisa				
8. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
9. MATAYOSHI, Scot Z.				
10. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.				
11. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.			- -	
12. TODD, Chris				
13. WILDBERGER, Tina	-			·
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
TOTAL (15)	14	Ø	Ø	/
The recommendation is:  Adopted  Not Adopted    If joint referral,				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				