STAND. COM. REP. NO. **1510**

Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 21 , 2019

RE: S.B. No. 817

S.D. 2 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirtieth State Legislature Regular Session of 2019 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred S.B. No. 817, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO SELF-SERVICE STORAGE,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to provide individuals with accessible and affordable insurance coverage for their stored property by:

- (1) Authorizing the sale of stored property insurance by self-storage facility owners under certain conditions; and
- (2) Requiring self-storage facility owners to hold a limited lines license to sell, solicit, or offer coverage under a stored property insurance policy.

Self-Storage Association and StorQuest Self Storage submitted testimony in support of this measure. Hawaii Independent Insurance Agents Association submitted testimony in opposition to this measure. The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs offered comments on this measure.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 817, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,

ROY M. TAKUMI, Chair

State of Hawaii

House of Representatives The THIRTIETH Legislature HOUSE OF THEWAIN HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES THE THIRTIETH Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:			
SB 817, SD2, HD1	TAC, CPC, FIN 3/19/19		1-1	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. TAKUMI, Roy M. (C)	1			
2. ICHIYAMA, Linda (VC)	✓			
3. AQUINO, Henry J.C.				
4. BELATTI, Della Au				· •
5. CABANILLA ARAKAWA, Rida	a 🗸			
6. CACHOLA, Romy M.	/			
7. HAR, Sharon E.				
		adar at asa Biblio B		
8. KONG, Sam Satoru	✓			
9. MIZUNO, John M.				√
10. ONISHI, Richard H.K.	✓			
11. MATSUMOTO, Lauren	V			

TOTAL (11)	9	0	0	7
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				