STAND. COM. REP. NO. 2103

Honolulu, Hawaii

pp 0 / , 2019

APR 04

RE: S.B. No. 409

S.D. 2 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirtieth State Legislature Regular Session of 2019 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 409, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO ELECTRIC VEHICLES,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to establish a registration surcharge fee for electric vehicles and alternative fuel vehicles which shall be deposited into the State Highway Fund.

The Department of Transportation, Ho'omanapono Political Action Committee submitted testimony in support of this measure. Servco Pacific Inc., Big Island Electric Vehicle Association, Organizing for Action, Blue Planet Foundation, Sierra Club of Hawai'i, and several concerned individuals submitted testimony in opposition. The Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism, Hawaiian Electric Company, Inc., Maui Electric Company, Ltd., Hawai'i Electric Light Company, Inc., Tesla, Tax Foundation of Hawaii, Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers, Ulupono Initiative, and a concerned individual submitted comments.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 409, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 2103
Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

State of Hawaii

House of Representatives The THIRTIETH Legislature HSCR 2103

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: Committee	Referral:	Date:	3/27/19	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) □ Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)				
3. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
4. GATES, Cedric Asuega				
5. HASHIMOTO, Troy N.				
6. HOLT, Daniel				
7. KITAGAWA, Lisa		. 141		
8. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
9. MATAYOSHI, Scot Z.			#1% 1 % []	
10. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.				
11. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.			4	
12. TODD, Chris			✓	
13. WILDBERGER, Tina				
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
				<u> </u>
				
TOTAL (15)	10	2	2	/
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				