STAND. COM. REP. NO. 179

Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 0 1 , 2019

RE: H.B. No. 812

H.D. 2

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirtieth State Legislature Regular Session of 2019 State of Hawaii

## Sir:

Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred H.B. No. 812, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO LOW-SPEED ELECTRIC BICYCLES," begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to regulate low-speed electric bicycles in the State by:

- (1) Prohibiting persons under fifteen years of age from operating a low-speed electric bicycle;
- (2) Including low-speed electric bicycles within the definition of "bicycle" for the purposes of the bicycle registration fee, Hawaii Highway Safety Act, and Statewide Traffic Code; and
- (3) Requiring a \$30 fee for the registration of low-speed electric bicycles.

The Department of Transportation, County of Kaua'i, and Hawaii Bicycling League testified in support of this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by changing the minimum age at which a person may operate a low-speed electric bicycle from fifteen to eighteen years of age.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 812, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 812, H.D. 2.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,

CHRIS LEE, Chair

## State of Hawaii House of Representatives The THIRTIETH Legislature



## Record of Votes of the Committee on Judiciary

Bill/Resolution No.: Committee HB812 HD1 TR	e Referral:	Date:	2/27	/19
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to:  □ Pass, unamended (as is) □ Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
JUD Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LEE, Chris (C)				
2. SAN BUENAVENTURA, Joy A. (VC)				
2. Sin Bellvir Division, 1969 in (16)				
3. BROWER, Tom			<u>aagaa aasiin 4000 da Addidhiida sasaa shaaya</u>	
4. CREAGAN, Richard P.				
5. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
5. EOWER, MOREE.				
6. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.				or material representation of the second sec
7. MORIKAWA, Dee			en en la	
8. SAY, Calvin K.Y.				
8. SAY, Calvin K.Y.				
9. TAKAYAMA, Gregg			<u> </u>	
10. YAMANE, Ryan I.			e de Caración de C	
11 THELEN Combin				
11. THIELEN, Cynthia			·	
			-	
TOTAL (11)	7			4
The recommendation is:    Adopted				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				