

State of Hawaii • Bishop Square, 1001 Bishop Street, ASB Tower 970 • Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Committee: Committee on Judiciary and Labor

Bill Number: S.B. 872, Relating to Ethics Hearing Date/Time: February 13, 2017, 9:30 a.m.

Re: Testimony of the Hawaii State Ethics Commission in **SUPPORT**

Dear Chair Keith-Agaran and Committee Members:

The Hawaii State Ethics Commission ("Commission") supports S.B. 872, a housekeeping measure regarding Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS") § 28-8.3.

This section amends HRS § 28-8.3 to make clear that the Commission can hire attorneys. Currently, HRS § 28-8.3 prohibits any state agency from hiring attorneys, except for the agencies listed in that statute; the Commission's omission from this list appears to have been an oversight. This section also makes clear that the Commission's attorneys, like those in most other legislative and executive agencies, are not considered Deputy Attorneys General.

Thank you for your continuing support of the Commission's work and for considering the Commission's testimony on S.B. 872.

Very truly yours,

Daniel Gluck Executive Director and General Counsel



February 13, 2017

TIM VANDEVEER Chair

MARGARET WILLE **SEAN SMITH** Legislative Committee Co-Chairs

SUPPORT FOR SB872 "RELATING TO ETHICS"

Monday, February 13, 2017 9:30 pm State Capitol, Conference Room 016

Committee On Judiciary And Labor Senator Gilbert Keith-Agaran, Chair Senator Karl Rhoads, Vice Chair

Submitted on Behalf of the Democratic Party of Hawai'i

The Democratic Party of Hawai'i supports SB872 "Relating To Ethics" the intent of which is to authorize the Board of Ethics to independently hire legal counsel. This Bill is consistent with the DPH's "Government Wellbeing" legislative priority for the 2017 Legislative Session to improve government ethical standards and accountability.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Tim Vandeveer (tim@hawaiidemocrats.org) Chair of the Democratic Party of Hawai'i

/s/ Margaret Wille (margaretwille@mac.com) /s/ Sean Smith (simashang@yahoo.com)

Legislative Committee Co-Chairs