STAND. COM. REP. NO. 2044 -18

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 16 , 2018

RE: S.C.R. No. 159

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2018 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Education, to which was referred S.C.R. No. 159 entitled:

"SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION TO CONVENE A COMPUTER SCIENCE TASK FORCE TO REVIEW COMPUTER SCIENCE PROGRAMS IN HAWAII'S PUBLIC SCHOOLS AND TO SUPPORT, STRENGTHEN, AND ESTABLISH PARTNERSHIPS AMONG EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS, INDUSTRIES, AND BUSINESSES TO IMPROVE COMPUTER SCIENCE PROGRAMS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to request the Department of Education to:

- (1) Convene a Computer Science Task Force (Task Force) to review computer science programs in public schools in the State;
- (2) Establish partnerships among educational institutions, industries, and businesses to improve computer science programs; and
- (3) On behalf of the Task Force, submit the findings and recommendations of the task force, including any proposed legislation, to the Legislature no later than 20 days prior to the 2019 Regular Session.

The Department of Education, Oahu County Committee on Legislative Priorities of the Democratic Party of Hawai'i, and an individual testified in support of this measure. The Office of Information Practices provided comments on this measure.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Education that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of S.C.R. No. 159 and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Education,

FOR JUSTIN H. WOODSON, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature

HSCR 2041-18

Record of Votes of the Committee on Education

Bill/Resolution No.: SCP-159	Committee Referral:	Date:	Ul - 13 7 F	15
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
EDN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. WOODSON, Justin H. (C)				V
2. KONG, Sam Satoru (VC)	√			
3. CREAGAN, Richard P.	V		11 AN 14 A	Titler . William
4 HACHEM Mork I			<u></u>	
4. HASHEM, Mark J.	V			
5. ING, Kaniela				M. Area
YA MARINEN				V
6. LEARMONT, Lei R.				
7. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.		Commission Continue of the second continue		V
8. OHNO, Takashi				
9. ONISHI, Richard H.K.			· To in a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a	
10 OUDU AN C				
10. QUINLAN, Sean			発展され 一年 本	V
11. MATSUMOTO, Lauren Kealohi	iloni			
11. MAISOMOTO, Lauren Kealoni	nam V			-
<u> </u>				
TOTAL (11)	7			4
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				