STAND. COM. REP. NO. 957-18

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 0.6 ' 2018

RE: S.B. No. 901 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2018 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred S.B. No. 901 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE AEROSPACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to simplify and expedite the Hawaii Aerospace Advisory Committee member appointment process by deleting the requirement that the Governor appoint members representing the county economic development boards and University of Hawaii to the Committee and instead allowing those members to be selected by the entity that they are to represent on the Committee.

The Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism testified in support of this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by:

- (1) Changing its effective date to July 1, 2050, to facilitate further discussion; and
- (2) Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 901, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 901, H.D. 1.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,

SCOTT Y. NISHIMOTO, Chair

State of Hawaii

House of Representatives
The Twenty-ninth Legislature

HSCK 1957-18

Record of Votes of the Committee on Judiciary

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral: EDB, JUD			
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: □ Pass, unamended (as is) □ Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
JUD Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y. (C)			and the second s	
2. SAN BUENAVENTURA, Joy A.	(VC)			
3. BROWER, Tom				
4. LEE, Chris				
5. MORIKAWA, Dee				
6. TAKAYAMA, Gregg				
7. McDERMOTT, Bob				
7. Medekiro II, Bus				
8. THIELEN, Cynthia				
TOTAL (8)				
-	To No. 4.1	<u> </u>		
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Deplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				