Honolulu, Hawaii , 2017

> S.B. No. 658 S.D. 2 H.D. 2

RE:

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2017 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 658, S.D. 2, H.D. 2, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO AN AIRPORT CORPORATION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to establish the Hawaii Airport Corporation, to be operational on July 1, 2018, to develop, manage, and operate the State's airports and aeronautical facilities.

The Chair of the Maui County Council, Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Association, The Chamber of Commerce Hawaii, Maui Chamber of Commerce, Hawaiian Airlines, Building Industry Association of Hawaii, Airport Concessionaires Committee, Land Use Research Foundation of Hawaii, Pacific Resource Partnership, Enterprise Holdings, Hawaii Business Roundtable, Outrigger Hotels Hawaii, Kohala Coast Resort Association, and an individual testified in support of this measure. The Office of Hawaiian Affairs, Hawaii Government Employees Association, AFSCME Local 152, AFL-CIO, United Public Workers, AFSCME, Local 646, AFL-CIO, and a concerned individual testified in opposition. The Department of the Attorney General, Department of Budget and Finance, Department of Transportation, Hawaii Tourism Authority, Airlines Committee of Hawaii, and an individual provided comments.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 658, S.D. 2, H.D. 2, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chaif

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: SB 698, SD2, HD 2	Committee Referral:	Date	3-31-	2017
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)				
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.				
4. CHOY, Isaac W.				
5. DeCOITE, Lynn			-	
6. GATES, Cedric Asuega				
7. HOLT, Daniel				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett				
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
10. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.				
11. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
12. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.				
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane				
14. QUINLAN, Sean				
15. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
16. TUPOLA, Andria P.L.				
17. WARD, Gene				
TOTAL (17)	15	Ø	Ø	2
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				