STAND. COM. REP. NO.



, 2018

Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 23

RE: S.B. No. 2563

S.D. 1 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2018 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Education, to which was referred S.B. No. 2563, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO AGRICULTURE,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to appropriate funds for the operations of the K-12 Agriculture Workforce Development Pipeline Initiative (Initiative) to enable the Initiative to continue conducting training on all islands for teachers, school administrators, and students in agricultural self-sufficiency.

The Department of Education, Department of Agriculture, Hawaii State Teachers Association, Hawaii Farm Bureau, Hawaii Crop Improvement Association, Hawaii Coffee Association, Hawaii Cattlemen's Council, Inc., Maui County Farm Bureau, Oahu County Committee on Legislative Priorities of the Democratic Party of Hawaii, and Land Use Research Foundation of Hawaii supported this measure. The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations offered comments.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Education that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No.

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1345 -18 Page 2

2563, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Education,

JUSTIN H. WOODSON, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives # SCR 1343-18 The Twenty-ninth Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Education

Bill/Resolution No.: Committee		Date:		
SB 2563, SDI, HDI LAB, E	DN, FIN	MAI	XH 19,201	8
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold				
☐ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
EDN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. WOODSON, Justin H. (C)				
2. KONG, Sam Satoru (VC)				
3. CREAGAN, Richard P.			•	
4. HASHEM, Mark J.			2	
5. ING, Kaniela				
	<u> Parajora</u>			
6. LEARMONT, Lei R.				
7. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.		第二十十七世 智·其至其至於2000 ·		
9 OHNO Televic				
8. OHNO, Takashi	.			
0 ONISHI Bishand H.V.				
9. ONISHI, Richard H.K.				
10. QUINLAN, Sean	<u> </u>	<u> </u>		
10. QUINDAN, Sean				
11. MATSUMOTO, Lauren Kealohilani				
22. Marxison 2010, Edulen Rediomidit	<u> </u>			
	.			
			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
	···			
TOTAL (11) /	10			1
The recommendation is: Adopted				
If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				