STAND. COM. REP. NO. 876

Honolulu, Hawaii

March 3

, 2017

RE: H.B. No. 795 H.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2017 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 795, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO CARBON FORESTRY CERTIFICATION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to assist the Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR) in creating a framework for long-term maintenance support for current and future reforestation projects by:

- Appropriating funds for the certification of a carbon project at Haleakala, Maui under an established forest carbon standard;
- (2) Requiring DLNR to submit annual reports on the carbon project certification of the reforestation project; and
- (3) Clarifying the State's oversight authority over third parties that receive funds related to the carbon project certification.

The Office of Environmental Quality Control, The Nature Conservancy Hawaii, and Sierra Club of Hawaii testified in support of this measure. DLNR provided comments on this measure.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 795, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 195, HD1	Committee Referral: WAL, FIN	Date	2-24-	2017
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)				
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.				1 °
4. CHOY, Isaac W.				***
5. DeCOITE, Lynn			:	
6. GATES, Cedric Asuega				
7. HOLT, Daniel				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett				
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				-
10. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.				<u> </u>
11. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
12. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.				
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane		:		1
14. QUINLAN, Sean				
15. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
16. TUPOLA, Andria P.L.				
17. WARD, Gene				
TOTAL (17)	_ 15	Ø	Ø	/
The recommendation is: Adopted				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				