STAND. COM. REP. NO.

Honolulu, Hawaii

March

, 2017

H.B. No. 620 RE:

H.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2017 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 620, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE KAHO'OLAWE ISLAND RESERVE COMMISSION, "

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to support the Kaho'olawe Island Reserve Commission (Commission) in its efforts to effectively meet the unique challenges of restoring, preserving, and determining the appropriate uses of the Kaho'olawe Island Reserve for the people of Hawaii by appropriating funds to the Department of Land and Natural Resources for:

- Nineteen full-time permanent positions (LNR906 natural and physical environment) for the Commission; and
- (2) The Commission to promote water sustainability and photovoltaic powered desalinization on the Island Reserve.

The Kaho'olawe Island Reserve Commission, a member of the Maui County Council, Maui County Department of Planning, Conservation Council for Hawaii, Ocean Tourism Coalition, Hawaiian Affairs Caucus of the Democratic Party of Hawaii, and numerous concerned individuals supported this bill.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 620, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

## State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature

## **Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance**

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 620, HD1	Committee Referral: WAL, FIN	Date:	2-24-	2017
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to:  Pass, unamended (as is)  Pass, with amendments (HD)  Hold  Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)				
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.				
4. CHOY, Isaac W.				
5. DeCOITE, Lynn				
6. GATES, Cedric Asuega				
7. HOLT, Daniel				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett				
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
10. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.				
11. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
12. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.				
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane			·	
14. QUINLAN, Sean				
15. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.		: '		
16. TUPOLA, Andria P.L.				
17. WARD, Gene				
TOTAL (17)	15	Ø	Ø	2
The recommendation is:  Adopted  If joint referral, did not support recommendation.  committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				