

Honolulu, Hawaii March 2 , 2018

RE: H.B. No. 2741 H.D. 2

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2018 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred H.B. No. 2741, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO MEDICAL CANNABIS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

HB2741 HD2 HSCR CPC HMS 2018-2487

The purpose of this measure is to tackle the complex issues surrounding the topic of insurance reimbursement for medical cannabis by establishing a working group to specifically address reimbursement for medical cannabis for qualifying patients.

Hawaii Educational Association for Licensed Therapeutic Healthcare and Oahu County Committee on Legislative Priorities of the Democratic Party of Hawai'i testified in support of this measure. The Legislative Reference Bureau provided comments.

Your Committee has amended this measure by clarifying that the Legislative Reference Bureau is requested to provide research and drafting assistance, but not to provide staff, to assist in the ministerial operations of the Working Group.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2741, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and

STAND. COM. REP. NO. DT3 -18 Page 2

recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2741, H.D. 2.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,

ROY M. TAKUMI, Chair



HSCR 1073-18

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature

## Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

	tee Referral: Date: $\frac{2}{2}/\frac{2}{9}$			
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: <ul> <li>Pass, unamended (as is)</li> <li>Pass, with amendments (HD)</li> <li>Hold</li> <li>Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)</li> </ul>				
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. TAKUMI, Roy M. (C)	/			
2. ICHIYAMA, Linda (VC)				
	hadar din Filadia. Arai din Kaaloo a Kiiy			
3. AQUINO, Henry J.C.				
4 ITO Kor				
4. ITO, Ken				
5. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling	la provi de la constante da del L		la de la constante de la consta	en high status en sen s
6. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.	/	<u>πλουροπή</u> , ημπτές ποτά που στο ποιουρουρου που που στο ποιουρου.		<u>1997 </u>
7. MIZUNO, John M.				
8. SAY, Calvin K.Y.				
9. TOKIOKA, James Kunane				
10. YAMANE, Ryan I.	<u></u>			
11. McDERMOTT, Bob	/	a Anna ann an Anna ann an Anna	i in the second s	and the second
TOTAL (11)	10	(	0	0
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				