STAND. COM. REP. NO. 363-18

Honolulu, Hawaii

February 14

, 2018

RE: H.B. No. 2590 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2018 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred H.B. No. 2590 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO AERONAUTICS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to replace criminal penalties for certain airport offenses addressed in Chapter 261, Hawaii Revised Statutes, or in certain administrative rules or orders issued pursuant thereto, with a civil penalty.

The Department of Transportation, National Business Aviation Association, Experimental Aircraft Association, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association, Jack Dixon, Inc., North Star Scientific Corporation, and many concerned individuals testified in support of this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by:

- (1) Increasing the fine for airport offenses to \$500;
- (2) Changing its effective date to July 1, 2050; and
- (3) Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for the purposes of clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2590, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2590, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Judiciary.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,

HENRY J.C. AOUINO, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature

HSCR 363-18

Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

Bill/Resolution No.: Cor HB 2590	Committee Referral: Date: 2/9/18			18
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
TRN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. AQUINO, Henry J.C. (C)		and the second s		
2. QUINLAN, Sean (VC)				
3. BROWER, Tom				
4. HASHEM, Mark J.				
5. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.				
6. SAN BUENAVENTURA, Joy A.				
7. McDERMOTT, Bob				
			·	
TOTAL (7)	6	0	0	
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				