STAND. COM. REP. NO. **373**-18

Honolulu, Hawaii

March 1, 2018

RE: H.B. No. 2460

H.D. 2

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2018 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 2460, H.D. 2, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO MICROGRIDS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to designate and establish requirements for a Natural Energy Laboratory of Hawaii Authority (NELHA) microgrid demonstration project on property controlled by NELHA that can assist in understanding, developing, and refining microgrid technologies and policies in the State.

NELHA, Oahu County Committee on Legislative Priorities of the Democratic Party of Hawaii, Young Progressives Demanding Action - Hawaii, Hawaii Leeward Planning Conference, Hawaii Island Economic Development Board, Sierra Student Coalition at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, 350Hawaii.org, Hawaii Solar Energy Association, Sierra Club of Hawaiii, and many concerned individuals supported this measure. Hawaiian Electric Company, Inc., Maui Electric Company, Ltd., and Hawaii Electric Light Company, Inc. opposed this measure. The Public Utilities Commission and Ulupono Initiative provided comments.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your

Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2460, H.D. 2, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

## State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature HSU2-823-18

## **Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance**

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 2460 HD2	Committee R		Date	2/23/	2018
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.					
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) □ Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)					
FIN Members		Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)					
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)					
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.				1	
4. DeCOITE, Lynn					
5. FUKUMOTO, Beth					
6. GATES, Cedric Asuega					
7. HOLT, Daniel					
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett					
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand					
10. LOWEN, Nicole E.					
11. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.					
12. TODD, Chris					<u> </u>
13. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.					
14. TUPOLA, Andria P.L.					~
15. WARD, Gene			·		
			-		
				-	
TOTAL (15)		11	d	d	4
The recommendation is:	nnted	□ Not Adopted		<b>y</b>	/
If joint referral, did not support recommendation.					
Vice Chair's or designee's signature					
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO					