STAND. COM. REP. NO.

Honolulu, Hawaii March 1

, 2018

H.B. No. 2403 RE:

H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2018 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 2403, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE MASS TRANSIT SPECIAL FUND, "

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to establish an unspecified annual credit to the Department of Transportation (DOT) from the Mass Transit Special Fund and require the Director of DOT to adopt and enforce provisions of the Federal Transit Authority's regulations regarding safety oversight of rail fixed guideway public transportation systems, including aspects that are not regulated by the Federal Railroad Administration.

The Oahu County Committee on Legislative Priorities of the Democratic Party of Hawaii supported this measure. The Department of Transportation, Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transportation, and Tax Foundation of Hawaii provided comments.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2403, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 936
Page 2

-18

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 2403, HD	Committee Referral: TRN, PIN	Date:	2/22/	2018
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)	V			
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.				
4. DeCOITE, Lynn				
5. FUKUMOTO, Beth				
6. GATES, Cedric Asuega				
7. HOLT, Daniel				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett				
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
10. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
11. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.				
12. TODD, Chris				
13. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
14. TUPOLA, Andria P.L.				<u> </u>
15. WARD, Gene				
TOTAL (15)	13	1/	d	2
		<u> </u>	Ψ	
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				