Honolulu, Hawaii

February 16 , 2018

RE: H.B. No. 2191 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2018 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred H.B. No. 2191 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO APPELLATE JURISDICTION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to amend the appellate jurisdiction of the Hawaii Supreme Court and Intermediate Court of Appeals to conditions as they existed prior to Act 202, Session Laws of Hawaii 2004, taking effect on July 1, 2006. Specifically, this measure reestablishes:

- (1) The requirement that most appeals be filed with the Supreme Court instead of the Intermediate Court of Appeals; and
- (2) Criteria for assigning appeals.

The Judiciary, County of Maui Department of the Prosecuting Attorney, Hawaii State Bar Association Appellate Section, and a few individuals testified in opposition.

Your Committee has amended this measure by changing its effective date to July 1, 2050, to facilitate further discussion.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2191, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2191, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,

SOTT Y. NISHIMOTO, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature HSCR712-18

Record of Votes of the Committee on Judiciary

Bill/Resolution No.:	l I		Date:	
HB2191	Jup, FIN		02/13/2018	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: □ Pass, unamended (as is) □ Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
JUD Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y. (C)				
2. SAN BUENAVENTURA, Joy A.	(VC)	**************************************		
3. BROWER, Tom				(All 1 a.m.)
4. LEE, Chris				
5. MORIKAWA, Dee				
6. TAKAYAMA, Gregg				
U. TAKATAMA, Glegg				
7. McDERMOTT, Bob				
8. THIELEN, Cynthia	A Stouden			
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
TOTAL (9)	1.			
TOTAL (8)				. (
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				