STAND. COM. REP. NO. 347 -18

Honolulu, Hawaii

March 1 , 2018

RE: H.B. No. 2162

H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2018 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 2162, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO TEACHER INCENTIVES,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to ensure a fair allocation of funds meant to benefit students who attend public schools established and maintained by the Department of Education and students who attend public charter schools.

Specifically, this measure requires that:

- (1) Funds for teacher incentive programs, bonuses, and other compensation required by law or collective bargaining beyond regular wages shall not be paid out of a charter school's facilities funding or per pupil funds; and
- (2) Beginning with fiscal year 2018-2019, and each fiscal year thereafter, the funding request for such items be a separate line item in the General Appropriations Act and the Supplemental Appropriations Act.

The Office of Hawaiian Affairs, State Public Charter School Commission, Hawaii Public Charter School Network, Hawaii State Teachers Association, Oahu County Committee on Legislative

841

Priorities of the Democratic Party of Hawaii, Hawaii Academy of Arts & Science Public Charter School, Kamaile Academy Public Charter School, Kualapu'u Public Conversion Charter School, Ho'okako'o Corporation, Na Wai Ola Public Charter School, Kona Pacific Public Charter School, and several concerned individuals supported this measure. The Department of Budget and Finance provided comments.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2162, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature

HFCR 947-18

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:	Date:	100 1	_ , , 0
HB2162, HD1	EDN/LAB/FIN		122/	2018
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes ·	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)				
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.				
4. DeCOITE, Lynn	レ			
5. FUKUMOTO, Beth				
6. GATES, Cedric Asuega	V			
7. HOLT, Daniel				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett		·		
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
10. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
11. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.				
12. TODD, Chris				
13. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
14. TUPOLA, Andria P.L.				
15. WARD, Gene				
TOTAL (15)	14	Ø	\mathscr{D}	
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				