

Honolulu, Hawaii February 8 , 2018

RE: H.B. No. 2043 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2018 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection, to which was referred H.B. No. 2043 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO WASTEWATER,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to authorize counties to:

- Implement a sewer monitoring program that includes inspection, after proper notice to property owners, of sewer laterals connected to county sewers on public or private property to detect saltwater infiltration; and
- (2) Compel the private property owners to inspect for saltwater infiltration and perform repairs as necessary.

The Oahu County Committee on Legislative Priorities of the Democratic Party of Hawaii and a concerned individual supported this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by changing its effective date to January 28, 2045, to facilitate further discussion.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection that is attached to



STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1997 -18 Page 2

this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2043, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2043, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Judiciary.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection,

CHRIS LEE, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:			Date:	130/1	Ç
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.						
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit) 						
EEP Members		Ayes	Ayes (WR)		Nays	Excused
1. LEE, Chris (C)						
2. LOWEN, Nicole E. (VC)						
3. CULLEN, Ty J.K.	1917. A. O YAMIN MILLION	/				
4. KONG, Sam Satoru						15
5. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.						
6. TODD, Chris			u <u>tý a st</u> ega			
				87-3 ° 1		
7. YAMANE, Ryan I.						
8. MCDERMOTT, Bob						
TOTAL (8)		8	0		0	0
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.						
Vice Chair's or designee's signature: Much C, Fowar						
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO						