STAND. COM. REP. NO.

Honolulu, Hawaii February 16 , 2018

-18

RE: H.B. No. 1882 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2018 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Education, to which was referred H.B. No. 1882 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO EDUCATION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to appropriate funds for laptop computers or tablets to be used by teachers and students for digital teaching and learning in public schools.

Computing Technology Industry Association, Oahu County Committee on Legislative Priorities of the Democratic Party of Hawaii, TechNet and its member companies, Kamehameha Schools, and three individuals testified in support of this measure. The Department of Education testified in support of the intent of this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by changing its effective date to July 1, 2050.

Should the Committee on Finance deliberate on this measure, your Committee respectfully requests that it consider an appropriation of \$8,200,000 for fiscal year 2018-2019 for laptop computers or tablets as provided in this measure.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. 568 -18 Page 2

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Education that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 1882, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 1882, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Finance.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Education,

WOODSON, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature

HICK 568-18

## Record of Votes of the Committee on Education

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 1882	Committee Referral: EDN, FIN	Date	T FEB	2018
The committee is reconsidering its previo		— I		
The recommendation is to: □ Pass, unamended (as is) □ Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold   □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
EDN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. WOODSON, Justin H. (C)				
2. KONG, Sam Satoru (VC)				
3. CREAGAN, Richard P.				
4. HASHEM, Mark J.				
5. ING, Kaniela				
6. LEARMONT, Lei R.				
7. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.				
8. OHNO, Takashi				
9. ONISHI, Richard H.K.				
10. QUINLAN, Sean				
11. MATSUMOTO, Lauren Kealohi	lani 🗸		1	
			an a	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
				·····
· · · · ·				
TOTAL (11)	9			2
The recommendation is: Adopted I Not Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				