STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1673

Honolulu, Hawaii

, 2017

RE: S.B. No. 976

H.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2017 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 976, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO TIER II FILING FEES FOR REPORTING OF HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to increase from \$100 to \$200 the annual Tier II filing fee collected pursuant to the Hawaii Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act from facilities where hazardous substances, pollutants, or contaminants are located.

The Department of Health, Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism, Department of Emergency Management of the City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii Fire Department, Lanai Water Company, Island Energy Services, and Meadow Gold Dairies testified in support of this measure.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 976, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1673
Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

## State of Hawaii

## House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature

## **Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance**

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Refe	erral:	ELL	Date:	71.	2217
(B976 1HD)	1 44	, PBG/1	112		-31-	2017
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.						
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD)  Hold						
☐ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)						
FIN Members		Ayes	Ayes (W	R)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)			7.		į	4.
2. CULLEN, Ty J.K. (VC)		<b>✓</b>				
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.						
4. CHOY, Isaac W.						
5. DeCOITE, Lynn						
6. GATES, Cedric Asuega						
7. HOLT, Daniel		<u> </u>				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett						
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand						
10. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.						
11. LOWEN, Nicole E.						
12. NAKAMURA, Nadine K.						
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane						
14. QUINLAN, Sean						
15. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.						
16. TUPOLA, Andria P.L.						<u> </u>
17. WARD, Gene						
TOTAL (17)		15	Ø		Ø	2
The recommendation is:  If joint referral, did not support recommendation.  committee acronym(s)						
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:						
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO						