

Honolulu, Hawaii Aprilo , 2017

RE: S.B. No. 339 S.D. 1 H.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2017 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred S.B. No. 339, S.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO INFORMATION CHARGING,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to authorize institution of all class B and class C felony charges by written information, subject to specified exceptions.

The Department of the Attorney General, County of Maui Department of the Prosecuting Attorney, County of Hawaii Office of the Prosecuting Attorney, County of Kauai Office of the Prosecuting Attorney, and City and County of Honolulu Department of the Prosecuting Attorney testified in support of this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by specifying an additional seven class C felonies and three class B felonies that are excluded from written information charging.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 339, S.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second



STAND. COM. REP. NO. **1707**-Page 2

Reading in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 339, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, and be placed on the calendar for Third Reading.

SB339 HD1 HSCR JUD HMS 2017-3517

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,

NISHIMOTO, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Judiciary

Bill/Resolution No.: SB 339 SDJ	Committee Referral:		Date:	Date: 4/4/17		
□ The committee is reconsidering its p	previous decision on the	measure.				
	ass, unamended (as is) ass short form bill with H		th amendments () for future public			
JUD Members		Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused	
1. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y. (C)					л» — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — —	
2. SAN BUENAVENTURA, Joy	7 A. (VC)					
3. BELATTI, Della Au						
4. BROWER, Tom						
5. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling						
6. LEE, Chris						
7. MORIKAWA, Dee				-		
8. NAKASHIMA, Mark M.					····· /	
9. OSHIRO, Marcus R.						
10. McDERMOTT, Bob						
11. THIELEN, Cynthia						
					······································	
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
		· · _			<u> </u>	
TOTAL (11)		8			S	
Λ	int referral,	Not Adopted ee acronym(s)	did not suppor	t recommendation	•	
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:	- Tx (PQ 3				
Distribution: Original (White) - Con	nmittee Duplicate	(Yellow) – Chi	ef Clock's Office	Duplicate (P	ink) – HMSO	