Honolulu, Hawaii

RE: H.B. No. 186 H.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2017 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Agriculture, to which was referred H.B. No. 186 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO COFFEE BERRY BORER BEETLE," begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to help protect the coffee industry in Hawaii by extending for an additional two years the sunset date of the pesticide subsidy program for coffee farmers who purchase pesticides containing Beauveria bassiana, a naturally occurring fungus known to cause high rates of mortality in coffee berry borers.

The Hawaii Farm Bureau; Hawaii Coffee Company; ILWU Local 142; Greenwell Farms; Hawaii Farmers Union United; Kona Coffee Farmers Association; Sugai Kona Coffee Products, Inc.; Hawaii County Council members representing districts 6 and 8; and numerous concerned individuals supported this measure. The Hawaii Coffee Association supported the measure with amendments. The Department of Agriculture supported the intent of the measure.

Your Committee has amended this bill by making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Agriculture that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 186, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading

HB186 HD1 HSCR AGR HMS 2017-1611

in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 186, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Agriculture,

RICHARD P. CREAGAN, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature

HSCR15

Record of Votes of the Committee on Agriculture

HB 186	AGR, FIN	Date	" 01 - 27 -	2017
θ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: θ Pass, unamended (as is) \star Pass, with amendments (HD) θ Hold θ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
AGR Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. CREAGAN, Richard P. (C)				
2. DeCOITE, Lynn (VC)				
3. GATES, Cedric Asuega				
3. GATES, Cedric Asuega	V			
4. ING, Kaniela				
5. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.				
6. TAKAYAMA, Gregg				The state of the s
7. THIELEN, Cynthia				
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
		· · · · · ·		
	~	•		
TOTAL (7)				
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				