Honolulu, Hawaii

February 7 , 2017

RE: H.B. No. 1475

H.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Ninth State Legislature Regular Session of 2017 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Agriculture, to which was referred H.B. No. 1475 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO AGRICULTURAL LANDS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to enhance public access to locally-govern food and value-added products while enabling farmers to be economically sustainable by allowing farmers' markets and food hubs on agricultural lands.

The Hawaii Cattlemen's Council, Pele Lani Farm LLC, Hawaii Opaeula, and a concerned individual supported this measure. The Department of Agriculture and Hawaii Farm Bureau supported the intent of the measure. A concerned individual opposed the measure. The Land Use Commission submitted comments.

Your Committee has amended this measure by:

- (1) Defining "farmers' market"; and
- (2) Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Agriculture that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 1475, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second

HB1475 HD1 HSCR AGR HMS 2017-1811

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 512
Page 2

Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 1475, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Economic Development & Business.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Agriculture,

RICHARD P. CREAGAN, Chair

## State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-ninth Legislature



## **Record of Votes of the Committee on Agriculture**

Bill/Resolution No.: HB1475	Committee Referral: ACIR, EDB, F	FIN	Date: 2-3-17	
θ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: $\theta$ Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) $\theta$ Hold $\theta$ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
AGR Members	Ayes	Ayes (WI	R) Nays	Excused
1. CREAGAN, Richard P. (C)				
2. DeCOITE, Lynn (VC)				
3. GATES, Cedric Asuega				
4. ING, Kaniela				
5. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.	1/			
5. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.				
6. TAKAYAMA, Gregg				
V. IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII				
7. THIELEN, Cynthia	J			
, <b>,</b>				
		****		
700m+7 (7)	-			
TOTAL (7)				
The recommendation is: Adopted θ Not Adopted				
If joint referral, did not support recommendation.  committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature: Lyn Dlock				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				