Honolulu, Hawaii March 24 , 2016

RE: S.B. No. 2008 S.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Eighth State Legislature Regular Session of 2016 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred S.B. No. 2008, S.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO SERVICE AREA BOARDS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to revise certain provisions pertaining to Service Area Boards on Mental Health and Substance Abuse.

More specifically, this measure:

- (1) Explicitly provides that Service Areas Boards on Mental Health and Substance Abuse are established within the Department of Health for administrative purposes; and
- (2) Provides quorum and voting specifications for meetings of Service Area Boards on Mental Health and Substance Abuse.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Health.

Your Committee finds that attaching Service Area Boards on Mental Health and Substance Abuse to the Department of Health for administrative purposes and establishing quorum and voting requirements for board meetings will facilitate the administration of the boards and allow them to deliberate and take action regarding matters under their purview.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 2008, S.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Second Reading and be referred to your Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,

ANGUS L.K. MCKELVEY, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-eighth Legislature

ASCD 1199-14

Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:	Date:	7 - 11	_ (/
5B 2008 SD	CPC, FIN		5-10	10 .
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. McKELVEY, Angus L.K. (C)				
2. WOODSON, Justin H. (VC)				
3. BELATTI, Della Au				/
4. BROWER, Tom				/
5. CREAGAN, Richard P.				
6. HAR, Sharon E.	/			
7. HASHEM, Mark J.				
8. KAWAKAMI, Derek S.K.				
9. LEE, Chris				
10. NAKASHIMA, Mark M.				/
11. OSHIRO, Marcus R.				
12. SAN BUENAVENTURA, Joy A	. /			
13. TAKAYAMA, Gregg				
14. YAMANE, Ryan I.				
15. FUKUMOTO CHANG, Beth	/			
16. McDERMOTT, Bob				
		- <u></u>		
			_	
TOTAL (16)	11	0	_ 0	5
The recommendation is: If joint referral, did not support recommendation. Committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Dup cate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				