STAND. COM. REP. NO. 736-16

Honolulu, Hawaii

March 24 , 201

RE: S.B. No. 1022 S.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Eighth State Legislature Regular Session of 2016 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred S.B. No. 1022, S.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT PROPOSING AN AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF HAWAII TO REPEAL THE ONE-YEAR MINIMUM HAWAII RESIDENCY REQUIREMENT TO QUALIFY FOR APPOINTMENT PURSUANT TO ARTICLE V, SECTION 6, OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF HAWAII,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to propose a constitutional amendment to repeal the one-year minimum Hawaii residency requirement to qualify for appointment as an officer of a department pursuant to article V, section 6, of the Constitution of the State of Hawaii.

Ho'omana Pono, LLC and an individual provided testimony in opposition to the measure.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 1022, S.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Second Reading and be referred to your Committee on Finance.

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1236-16 Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,

KARL RHOADS, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-eighth Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Judiciary

SB 1022, SD 1	Committee	Referral:	N	Date: 03/3	22/16
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.					
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)					
JUD Members		Ayes	Ayes (W	R) Nays	Excused
1. RHOADS, Karl (C)		-			
2. SAN BUENAVENTURA, Joy A. (VC)					
3. BELATTI, Della Au					
4. BROWER, Tom		V			
5. CREAGAN, Richard P.					
6. HASHEM, Mark J.					
7. KAWAKAMI, Derek S.K.					
8. LEE, Chris					
9. MORIKAWA, Dee		-			
10. NAKASHIMA, Mark M.					
11. TAKAYAMA, Gregg					
12. WOODSON, Justin H.		\(\tau \)			
13. McDERMOTT, Bob					
14. THIELEN, Cynthia					
					_
TOTAL (14)		- []	0		3
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)					
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:					
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO					