STAND. COM. REP. NO. **867**-16

Honolulu, Hawaii

March 4

RE: H.B. No. 2694 H.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Eighth State Legislature Regular Session of 2016 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 2694 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT PROPOSING AN AMENDMENT TO ARTICLE IV, SECTION 2, OF THE HAWAII STATE CONSTITUTION TO ADDRESS THE SELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE REAPPORTIONMENT COMMISSION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to ensure fair participation of all political parties on the Reapportionment Commission by providing that if there are no members belonging to the minority party or parties in a house of the Legislature, the members belonging to the same minority party or parties in the other house of the Legislature shall nominate persons to serve on the Commission.

The League of Women Voters Hawaii supported this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by:

- (1) Changing the effective date to July 1, 2030, to encourage further discussion; and
- (2) Making technical nonsubstantive amendments for clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2694, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2694, H.D. 1.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-eighth Legislature HSCR 863-16

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:	ommittee Referral: Date:		
нв2694	JUD, FIN	D, FIN 02/25/16		
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y. (VC)				
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.				
4. CULLEN, Ty J.K.				
5. DeCOITE, Lynn				
6. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling	1/			
7. JORDAN, Jo				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett				
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
10. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.				
11. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
12. ONISHI, Richard H.K.				
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane				
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.			···-	
15. POUHA, Feki				
16. WARD, Gene			i	
			_	
TOTAL (16)	15			1
The recommendation is: Adopted • Not Adopted				
(If joint referral, did not support recommendation committee acronym(s)				
commune actorym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				